BackupWattCache

Gear

Flashlights

Core job: seeing, in the first ten seconds and the tenth hour

The cheapest item in this whole sequence is the one that people are most reliably missing at the moment they need it. A flashlight has two entirely separate jobs, and one light rarely does both well: being found instantly in a dark room, and still working at hour ten.

01

What this category solves

  • Gets you from wherever you were standing to wherever the important things are, without using a phone screen you will want later.
  • Lets you see inside a breaker panel, a fuse box, or the back of a cabinet without holding a phone in your teeth.
  • Keeps a room usable for hours, which a phone flashlight will not do without costing you the phone.
  • Gives every person in the house their own light, which is the difference between a household coping and a household following one adult around.
02

How to choose

What separates one unit from another in this category
FactorWhat to look forWhy it matters
Where it livesA light that stays where you will be standingA drawer light three rooms away is a light you do not have. Placement beats specification in the first minute.
Power sourceRechargeable, replaceable cells, or plug-in, chosen deliberatelyRechargeable lights die if neglected, and alkaline lights die in storage. Owning some of each covers both failure modes.
OutputA stated lumen figure where the listing gives oneLumens describe total light, not usable throw, but they still separate a keychain light from a household one.
ModesA low mode, not only a maximumMaximum output burns runtime fast and blinds you indoors. Low mode is what carries you through a long night.
Hands-free optionsA magnet, a clip, or a tail that stands upMost outage work needs two hands. A light you have to hold is a light that makes the job harder.
How manyMultipacks over a single premium unitCoverage across rooms and people matters more than any specification on one light.
03

The lineup

Nothing on this page has been tested by this site. Every specification is what the listing states, and where a listing states nothing, this page says so rather than filling the gap. There are no prices and no ratings here.

Household and outage

Lights that live in a hallway or a drawer and carry a room for hours, including plug-in units that switch themselves on.

Switches itself on when the outlet goes dead

Energizer Auto-On Rechargeable Flashlights, 3-pack

Energizer Auto-On Rechargeable Flashlights, 3-pack

These stay plugged into wall outlets, charging, and switch themselves on the moment the outlet goes dead. That solves the exact problem this category exists for: not owning a flashlight, but finding one in a room that just went black. Three in a pack covers a hallway, a stairwell, and a bedroom.

Stated behavior
Switches on during a power failure
Stated power
Plug-in rechargeable
Quantity
3-pack
Stated second use
Night light
Stated output
Not stated on the listing

What it does well

  • Switches itself on at the instant of the outage, so the room is never fully dark.
  • Always charged, because it lives plugged into the wall rather than in a drawer.
  • Three units cover the three places a household actually needs light first.
  • Doubles as a night light, so it earns its outlet on ordinary nights.

Where it falls short

  • Occupies a wall outlet permanently, which is a real cost in older rooms.
  • The listing does not state a lumen figure, so output has to be judged in person.
  • Once removed from the wall it runs on its internal charge, which is a limited reserve.

Best forThe first minute of an outage, in the hallway and at the top of the stairs, without anyone looking for anything.

Check price on Amazon

Four lights with replaceable cells included

EVEREADY LED Flashlights, 4-pack

EVEREADY LED Flashlights, 4-pack

Four basic LED lights with AA cells included, which is the least glamorous and most reliable arrangement in this category. A light that runs on replaceable cells works after three years in a drawer, provided the cells were stored separately and spares exist. Four of them is one per person in most households.

Stated power
AA batteries, included
Quantity
4-pack
Stated use
Emergency and camping
Stated output
Not stated on the listing
Stated modes
Not stated on the listing

What it does well

  • Replaceable AA cells mean the light is repairable with something sold at every checkout counter.
  • Cells are included, so the pack works the day it arrives rather than after a second purchase.
  • Four units is enough for one per person in most households.
  • Nothing to charge, so neglect between outages does not disable them.

Where it falls short

  • Alkaline cells left installed for years can leak and ruin the light.
  • The listing does not state a lumen figure or runtime.
  • Basic lights with no stated modes, so there is no low setting to stretch a long night.

Best forOne light per person, kept with the cells stored separately, as the backup to whatever else you own.

Check price on Amazon
Rechargeable Flashlights, 2-pack

Rechargeable Flashlights, 2-pack

The listing states five modes, an LCD charge display, USB-C charging, and a zoomable beam, in a two-pack. The charge display is the useful part in a drawer light: you can see whether the thing is ready without switching it on. Five modes means there is a low setting to stretch across a long evening.

Stated modes
Five
Stated display
LCD
Stated charging
USB-C
Stated beam
Zoomable
Quantity
2-pack

What it does well

  • A stated LCD display shows the charge level without having to test the light.
  • Five stated modes include low settings that make a long outage manageable.
  • USB-C charging uses the cable already in the house rather than a proprietary one.
  • A stated zoomable beam covers both close work and looking down a driveway.

Where it falls short

  • The listing does not state a lumen figure for any mode.
  • Rechargeable drawer lights go flat if the top-up habit does not stick.
  • Zoom mechanisms are a moving part in a device that spends years unused.

Best forA drawer or shelf light where you want to see the charge state before an outage rather than during one.

Check price on Amazon
Blukar Rechargeable Flashlight

Blukar Rechargeable Flashlight

The listing states four lighting modes, adjustable focus, and water resistance, in a single rechargeable light. Water resistance is the specification that matters here, because most of the reasons a household loses power involve weather and most of the work happens outdoors. Four modes gives a low setting for long use.

Stated modes
Four
Stated focus
Adjustable
Stated resistance
Water resistant
Stated power
Rechargeable
Stated output
Not stated on the listing

What it does well

  • Stated water resistance suits the outdoor work an outage usually involves.
  • Four stated modes include settings low enough to run for a long evening.
  • Adjustable focus covers both close work and looking across a yard.
  • A single rechargeable unit is simple to keep topped up alongside a phone.

Where it falls short

  • The listing does not state a lumen figure or a runtime.
  • One light does not cover a household; it needs company.
  • Rechargeable only, so neglect leaves it flat.

Best forThe light that goes outside, to the meter, the yard, or a neighbor's door, in bad weather.

Check price on Amazon
Lepro Adjustable Focus LED Flashlight

Lepro Adjustable Focus LED Flashlight

The listing states a small waterproof LED light with an adjustable zoom focus, running on AAA cells that come in the box. Replaceable cells are the reason it sits in the household group: a light like this works after years in a drawer as long as the cells were stored beside it rather than inside it. The zoom lets one light do both the across-the-yard job and the inside-the-panel job.

Stated power
AAA cells, included
Stated focus
Adjustable zoom
Stated build
Waterproof
Quantity
Single light
Stated output
Not stated as a figure on the listing title

What it does well

  • Runs on stated AAA cells, so a fresh set from the kitchen drawer brings it back to life after any length of storage.
  • A stated adjustable focus goes from a wide indoor flood to a narrow beam for the far end of a yard.
  • A stated waterproof build tolerates a wet porch or a leaking basement.
  • Small and light enough to live in a glovebox, a kitchen drawer, and a nightstand at the same time.

Where it falls short

  • The listing title states high lumens but no figure, so output has to be judged in person.
  • AAA cells left inside a stored light are the ones that leak; keep spares next to it, not in it.
  • No stated hands-free feature such as a magnet or a stand, so panel work needs a second person or a headlamp.

Best forThe drawer light that has to work on the first click after two years of being ignored.

Check price on Amazon
Lepro Adjustable Focus LED Flashlight, 2-pack

Lepro Adjustable Focus LED Flashlight, 2-pack

The listing states the same small waterproof zoom-focus LED light as the single Lepro unit, sold as a pair. Two identical lights is what this category keeps saying a household needs: one at the top of the stairs and one in the kitchen, taking the same cells, so the spares in the drawer fit both. The multipack is the sensible way to buy a plain light.

Quantity
2-pack
Stated focus
Adjustable zoom
Stated build
Waterproof
Stated power
Not stated on the listing title
Stated output
Not stated as a figure on the listing title

What it does well

  • Two lights in one purchase covers two rooms, which matters more than any spec on either light.
  • A stated adjustable focus handles both a wide room and a narrow beam down a hallway.
  • A stated waterproof build suits a porch, a garage, and a wet basement.
  • Identical lights share cells and spares, so there is one thing to remember to stock.

Where it falls short

  • The listing title states high lumens without a number, so brightness is unverified from the product page.
  • The listing title does not state the cell type, so confirm it on the full page before buying spares.
  • No stated magnet, clip, or stand, so neither light works hands-free.

Best forA two-floor house that wants a plain, replaceable-cell light at the stairs and in the kitchen.

Check price on Amazon
ZioeYiue Rechargeable Flashlights, 700 lm, 2-pack

ZioeYiue Rechargeable Flashlights, 700 lm, 2-pack

The listing states a pair of rechargeable 700 lumen lights with seven modes, a stated 12 hour runtime, and a clip. The runtime figure is the useful claim: it is the only light in this group that states a number for how long it lasts, and twelve hours is a full night. Two lights means two rooms, and the clip means one of them can hang from a pocket or a shelf edge.

Stated output
700 lumens
Stated runtime
12 hours, mode not stated
Stated modes
Seven
Quantity
2-pack
Stated power
Rechargeable

What it does well

  • The listing states a 12 hour runtime, which is a full night and a figure most lights here do not state at all.
  • Two lights in the pack covers two people or two rooms for one purchase.
  • Seven stated modes almost certainly includes a low setting, which is the one a long evening uses.
  • A stated clip gives a basic hands-free option on a pocket, a strap, or a shelf edge.

Where it falls short

  • The listing does not state at which mode the 12 hour runtime applies, and it will not be at 700 lumens.
  • Rechargeable lights go flat in a drawer, so both need a recharge on the smoke alarm schedule.
  • The listing title does not say whether the lights are waterproof, and does not state the cell type.

Best forTwo bedrooms that each want a rechargeable light with a stated all-night runtime.

Check price on Amazon

Household and outage, as the listings state

Energizer Auto-On Rechargeable Flashlights, 3-pack

Form
Plug-in household light
Power source
Rechargeable, wall-mounted
Output, as listed
Not stated
Where it belongs
Hallway, stairs, bedroom outlets

EVEREADY LED Flashlights, 4-pack

Form
Handheld household light
Power source
AA cells, included
Output, as listed
Not stated
Where it belongs
One per person, cells stored apart

Rechargeable Flashlights, 2-pack

Form
Handheld household light
Power source
Rechargeable, USB-C
Output, as listed
Not stated
Where it belongs
Kitchen drawer, utility shelf

Blukar Rechargeable Flashlight

Form
Handheld household light
Power source
Rechargeable
Output, as listed
Not stated
Where it belongs
Back door, for outdoor work

Lepro Adjustable Focus LED Flashlight

Form
Handheld zoom flashlight
Power source
AAA cells, replaceable
Output, as listed
Not stated as a figure
Where it belongs
Kitchen drawer, glovebox

Lepro Adjustable Focus LED Flashlight, 2-pack

Form
Handheld zoom flashlight, pair
Power source
Replaceable cells, type not stated in the title
Output, as listed
Not stated as a figure
Where it belongs
Stairs and kitchen

ZioeYiue Rechargeable Flashlights, 700 lm, 2-pack

Form
Handheld light with clip, pair
Power source
Rechargeable
Output, as listed
700 lumens, as listed
Where it belongs
Bedrooms

EDC and keychain

Small lights that travel with a person, so at least one light is always in the room where somebody is.

Green beam, UV, and white LED in one pocket body

OLIGHT ArkPro Ultra EDC Flashlight

OLIGHT ArkPro Ultra EDC Flashlight

The listing states 1700 lumens, along with a green beam, a UV source, and USB-C magnetic charging. The high figure is for looking at something across a yard rather than for lighting a room, where it mostly produces glare. Magnetic charging is the feature that keeps a pocket light actually charged.

Stated output
1700 lumens
Stated sources
White LED, green beam, UV
Stated charging
USB-C magnetic
Stated form
EDC
Stated runtime
Not stated on the listing

What it does well

  • A stated 1700 lumens is more than enough for outdoor and distance work.
  • Stated USB-C magnetic charging is the arrangement most likely to keep a pocket light topped up.
  • Multiple stated light sources, including a green beam and UV, give it uses beyond a plain white light.
  • Small enough to be carried daily, which is what makes any light available when needed.

Where it falls short

  • Maximum output indoors is mostly glare, so the low modes are what you will actually use.
  • A rechargeable pocket light goes flat if neglected, unlike one with replaceable cells.
  • The listing does not state a runtime figure at any output level.

Best forThe light that travels in a pocket every day, so at least one light is wherever a person is.

Check price on Amazon
OLIGHT ArkPro EDC Flashlight

OLIGHT ArkPro EDC Flashlight

The listing states 1500 lumens with a green beam, a UV source, a white LED, and USB-C magnetic charging. It is the same arrangement as the higher-output unit in this line at a slightly lower stated figure, which indoors is a difference nobody notices. Magnetic charging remains the reason a pocket light stays ready.

Stated output
1500 lumens
Stated sources
White LED, green beam, UV
Stated charging
USB-C magnetic
Stated form
EDC
Stated runtime
Not stated on the listing

What it does well

  • A stated 1500 lumens covers everything an outage asks of a pocket light.
  • Stated USB-C magnetic charging removes the friction that leaves pocket lights flat.
  • Multiple stated sources, including green beam and UV, beyond plain white light.
  • Pocket-sized, so it is present without anyone planning for it to be.

Where it falls short

  • The stated output difference against the higher unit in this line is not visible indoors.
  • Rechargeable only, with no fallback to replaceable cells.
  • The listing does not state runtime at any output level.

Best forA daily carry light for someone who does not need the top of the line to get the same job done.

Check price on Amazon
WUBEN G5 EDC Flashlight

WUBEN G5 EDC Flashlight

The listing states 400 lumens from a dual light source with RGB output, in a magnetic keychain-sized body. Four hundred lumens is more than enough indoors, and the magnet is what makes it useful: stuck to a fuse panel door it becomes a work light instead of something to hold. Keychain size means it is present by default.

Stated output
400 lumens
Stated sources
Dual light source with RGB
Stated mounting
Magnetic
Stated form
Keychain size
Stated runtime
Not stated on the listing

What it does well

  • The stated magnet turns it into a hands-free work light on any steel surface.
  • A stated 400 lumens is well matched to indoor work without producing glare.
  • Keychain size means it travels without anyone deciding to bring it.
  • A stated dual light source with RGB gives signaling and marking uses beyond white light.

Where it falls short

  • A keychain-sized cell means a short runtime compared with a full-size light.
  • The listing does not state a runtime at any output level.
  • Small bodies are easy to lose, which is the trade for always having one.

Best forHands-free close work, stuck to a panel door or an appliance, without holding anything.

Check price on Amazon
OLIGHT IMINI 2 Keychain Flashlight

OLIGHT IMINI 2 Keychain Flashlight

The listing states 50 lumens with a 21 meter throw from a built-in battery in a keyring-sized body. This is the smallest light in the catalog and the least capable, and it is here because a light on a keyring is a light you have. Fifty lumens finds a door lock, a breaker label, or a set of stairs.

Stated output
50 lumens
Stated throw
21 m
Stated power
Built-in battery
Stated form
Keyring size
Stated runtime
Not stated on the listing

What it does well

  • Small enough to live on a keyring permanently, which is the only reliable way to always have a light.
  • A stated 50 lumens and 21 meter throw is enough for locks, labels, and stairs.
  • A built-in battery means nothing to buy or replace.
  • Costs and weighs little enough that one on every keyring in the house is reasonable.

Where it falls short

  • A stated 50 lumens will not light a room; it is a finding light, not a working one.
  • The built-in battery cannot be replaced when it eventually stops holding a charge.
  • The listing does not state a runtime figure.

Best forA keyring, so that the first ten seconds of an outage are never spent in complete darkness.

Check price on Amazon
Klein Tools 56074 EDC Pocket Flashlight

Klein Tools 56074 EDC Pocket Flashlight

The listing states a rechargeable pocket light with three brightness modes and a turbo mode reaching 1000 lumens, a built-in floodlight, and a Class 2 green laser pointer under 1 mW. The floodlight is the feature that earns a place here: a wide, even light for the inside of a breaker panel, where a narrow beam produces shadows. The laser is for pointing at something on a ceiling, not for anything an outage needs.

Stated output
Up to 1000 lumens, turbo mode
Stated modes
Three brightness modes plus turbo
Stated floodlight
Built in
Stated laser
Green, under 1 mW, 510 to 530 nm, Class 2
Stated power
Rechargeable

What it does well

  • A stated built-in floodlight lights the whole inside of a panel or cabinet rather than one spot in it.
  • Three stated brightness modes means a low setting for the long evening, with turbo held in reserve.
  • A stated 1000 lumen turbo covers outdoor and distance work when it is needed.
  • Pocket-sized and rechargeable, so it tends to be on a person rather than in a drawer.

Where it falls short

  • A Class 2 green laser is a tool feature, not an outage feature, and it must never be pointed at eyes or at anyone.
  • The listing does not state a runtime at any mode, so how long the low setting lasts is unknown from the page.
  • A rechargeable light goes flat if it is neglected, unlike one with replaceable cells.

Best forThe person who ends up at the breaker panel, wanting flood light in the box rather than a spot on one breaker.

Check price on Amazon
HOTLIGH ZF8313 Magnetic EDC Flashlight

HOTLIGH ZF8313 Magnetic EDC Flashlight

The listing states 2000 lumens, the highest output figure stated by any light in this catalog, in a rechargeable magnetic body with RGB and UV sources alongside the main white LED. The magnet is the useful part for an outage: stuck to a fridge door, a furnace, or a car fender it becomes a hands-free work light. The 2000 lumen figure is a seller claim reported as stated, and indoors it is far more than anyone wants.

Stated output
2000 lumens
Stated sources
White LED, RGB, UV
Stated mounting
Magnetic
Stated power
Rechargeable
Stated runtime
Not stated on the listing

What it does well

  • A stated magnetic body makes it a hands-free light on any steel surface, which most outage jobs need.
  • The listing states the highest output figure here at 2000 lumens, for the rare job that is outdoors and far away.
  • Stated RGB and UV sources give it uses beyond an outage, such as checking for leaks or reading a security mark.
  • Rechargeable and pocket-sized, so it travels with a person rather than living in a drawer.

Where it falls short

  • The stated 2000 lumen figure has no published test conditions behind it, and this site has not measured it.
  • The listing does not state a runtime, a battery capacity, or a low-mode figure, and the low mode is what a long night uses.
  • A rechargeable light is only as ready as its last charge; neglect it and it is a paperweight.

Best forThe garage and furnace-room light, stuck to something steel while both hands are busy.

Check price on Amazon

EDC and keychain, as the listings state

OLIGHT ArkPro Ultra EDC Flashlight

Form
Pocket EDC light
Power source
Rechargeable, USB-C magnetic
Output, as listed
1700 lumens, as listed
Where it belongs
Carried daily

OLIGHT ArkPro EDC Flashlight

Form
Pocket EDC light
Power source
Rechargeable, USB-C magnetic
Output, as listed
1500 lumens, as listed
Where it belongs
Carried daily

WUBEN G5 EDC Flashlight

Form
Keychain light
Power source
Rechargeable
Output, as listed
400 lumens, as listed
Where it belongs
On a keyring, magnetic to steel

OLIGHT IMINI 2 Keychain Flashlight

Form
Keychain light
Power source
Built-in rechargeable
Output, as listed
50 lumens, as listed
Where it belongs
On every keyring in the house

Klein Tools 56074 EDC Pocket Flashlight

Form
Pocket EDC light with floodlight
Power source
Rechargeable
Output, as listed
Up to 1000 lumens, as listed
Where it belongs
Carried daily, panel work

HOTLIGH ZF8313 Magnetic EDC Flashlight

Form
Magnetic pocket work light
Power source
Rechargeable
Output, as listed
2000 lumens, as listed
Where it belongs
Garage, furnace room, car
04

Everything in this category, side by side

Values in this table come from each listing rather than from any measurement made here.

Flashlights, all products

Energizer Auto-On Rechargeable Flashlights, 3-pack

Form
Plug-in household light
Power source
Rechargeable, wall-mounted
Output, as listed
Not stated
Where it belongs
Hallway, stairs, bedroom outlets

EVEREADY LED Flashlights, 4-pack

Form
Handheld household light
Power source
AA cells, included
Output, as listed
Not stated
Where it belongs
One per person, cells stored apart

OLIGHT ArkPro Ultra EDC Flashlight

Form
Pocket EDC light
Power source
Rechargeable, USB-C magnetic
Output, as listed
1700 lumens, as listed
Where it belongs
Carried daily

Rechargeable Flashlights, 2-pack

Form
Handheld household light
Power source
Rechargeable, USB-C
Output, as listed
Not stated
Where it belongs
Kitchen drawer, utility shelf

OLIGHT ArkPro EDC Flashlight

Form
Pocket EDC light
Power source
Rechargeable, USB-C magnetic
Output, as listed
1500 lumens, as listed
Where it belongs
Carried daily

Blukar Rechargeable Flashlight

Form
Handheld household light
Power source
Rechargeable
Output, as listed
Not stated
Where it belongs
Back door, for outdoor work

WUBEN G5 EDC Flashlight

Form
Keychain light
Power source
Rechargeable
Output, as listed
400 lumens, as listed
Where it belongs
On a keyring, magnetic to steel

OLIGHT IMINI 2 Keychain Flashlight

Form
Keychain light
Power source
Built-in rechargeable
Output, as listed
50 lumens, as listed
Where it belongs
On every keyring in the house

Lepro Adjustable Focus LED Flashlight

Form
Handheld zoom flashlight
Power source
AAA cells, replaceable
Output, as listed
Not stated as a figure
Where it belongs
Kitchen drawer, glovebox

Lepro Adjustable Focus LED Flashlight, 2-pack

Form
Handheld zoom flashlight, pair
Power source
Replaceable cells, type not stated in the title
Output, as listed
Not stated as a figure
Where it belongs
Stairs and kitchen

Klein Tools 56074 EDC Pocket Flashlight

Form
Pocket EDC light with floodlight
Power source
Rechargeable
Output, as listed
Up to 1000 lumens, as listed
Where it belongs
Carried daily, panel work

HOTLIGH ZF8313 Magnetic EDC Flashlight

Form
Magnetic pocket work light
Power source
Rechargeable
Output, as listed
2000 lumens, as listed
Where it belongs
Garage, furnace room, car

ZioeYiue Rechargeable Flashlights, 700 lm, 2-pack

Form
Handheld light with clip, pair
Power source
Rechargeable
Output, as listed
700 lumens, as listed
Where it belongs
Bedrooms
05

Care and safety

Lights fail in storage more often than they fail in use. The two habits below prevent nearly all of it.

  • Check every light twice a year, on the same schedule you use for smoke alarm batteries.
  • Store alkaline cells outside the light for anything that sits unused for long stretches. A leaking cell ruins the light it is in.
  • Keep one light per bedroom and one at each floor's stairs, rather than a cluster in a single drawer.
  • Top up rechargeable lights on the interval the manual gives, and keep the cable with the light.
  • Label the light in the drawer with the cell size it takes, so the right spares get bought.

Hard limits

  • Do not use candles or open flames as an outage light source. Flameless is the entire point of this category.
  • Do not charge a rechargeable light with a swollen or damaged case, and do not open a sealed battery compartment to replace cells that were not meant to be replaced.
  • Do not shine high-output lights at people, at eyes, or at drivers. Modern pocket lights are bright enough to cause real discomfort and afterimages.
  • Do not leave lights with alkaline cells installed in a hot car or attic for years. Leakage is the usual result.
07

Questions this category keeps getting

How many flashlights does a household actually need?

More than one and fewer than you would guess from a preparedness list. One per bedroom, one at the top of the stairs, and one in the kitchen covers the situations that matter. Multipacks are usually the sensible purchase for that reason.

Are rechargeable or battery flashlights better for outages?

They fail differently, which is an argument for owning both. Rechargeable lights are cheaper to run and go flat if neglected. Lights with replaceable cells work after years in a drawer, provided the cells were stored out of the light and spares exist.

What does an auto-on flashlight do?

It stays plugged into a wall outlet, charging, and switches itself on when the outlet goes dead. That solves the specific problem of finding a light in a room that just went dark, which is a different problem from lighting a room for six hours.

Is a high lumen number what I want indoors?

Rarely. A high output setting indoors mostly produces glare off walls and eats runtime. The useful feature is a low mode you can leave on for hours, with the high mode kept for looking at something far away or outdoors.

Should I just use my phone?

For ten seconds, yes. For an evening, no. The phone is the thing you most want to still have a charge in tomorrow, and using it as a lamp is the fastest way to lose it.